Advertisement

Cutting The scoby in half

topic posted Mon, June 6, 2011 - 12:31 PM by  Gregory
Share/Save/Bookmark
will it hurt the scoby it i cut it in half with a knife? Or should I tear it in half? Thanks
posted by:
Gregory
Wisconsin
Advertisement
  • Re: Cutting The scoby in half

Tue, June 7, 2011 - 6:47 PM
    Just joind the forum, greetings all :) i'd like to know the answer to that too Gregory!
    i'm new to kombucha making, a few weeks ago i made my first batch by myself and wanted to make one for a friend too so i seperated the scoby in half by peeling it apart, the older part of the scoby (on the bottom) was fine but the newer scoby (top) which i peeled off sank to the bottom of that batch (which i read somewhere means it's dead...)
    Anyway, all i really want to know is, is it ok to actually CUT the scoby in half as opposed to separating it by layers?
    cheers

Sat, June 18, 2011 - 9:48 AM
      >>"the newer scoby (top) which i peeled off sank to the bottom of that batch (which i read somewhere means it's dead...) "

Not true. Sometimes it just takes them awhile to find their level. They work even if they sink. I have a gallon jar which I keep for backup. When the scooby gets too thick I peel off the bottom and throw it away. The top that is left often sinks while a new one grows on top. Sometimes it rises again and they stick together. You can chop it into bits and it will still work.

The only time I ever had a bad scooby was when little files got in and laid eggs on it. It was still quite alive, but I threw it away and used my backup.

Sat, June 18, 2011 - 10:36 PM
    There was a post a while back that said cutting it with a metal knife didn't hurt them, even though you are traditionally never to let metal touch them. If you are worried, you could try a plastic knife, but the cut itself is no problem.

Tue, June 21, 2011 - 9:32 AM